Are we anything?

If I have to constantly step forward to meet you, does it mean you will do nothing but wait? And what if I don’t move? What if I stay here? Away from you? Will you ever come to me? Why am I always the first one to reach out and touch you? To run my fingers through your hair? Why do you look away from me?

Why do you push me away? I look away because I cannot stand to see the hurt I’ve caused you. I cannot stand to look into your eyes and see what I’ve done. I wait for you because you are strong and brave. I wait for you because I know you’ll always come.

I push you away to see if you’ll come, to see if I can get you to move.

What am I, a Frisbee?

You are my insanity.

Really?

Yes.

Well, you are my sanity.

 

 

Photo Credit: Jamie McCaffrey

2 thoughts on “Are we anything?

  1. I love this. It’s stating my current thoughts and emotions directly. Initially I thought it was all one person talking, but the dialogue afterwards made me read it again. Does the first person have the first two paragraphs? I want to say no if I understand the personalities but I also want to confirm. The ending is beautiful with the touch of being the ying and yang of one another

Donate a smile here: